My wife and child are disabled, I care for them. Govt have made our lives a living hell. No government should do this to citizens.

I have no idea why my wife and I ever bothered paying into the system. Which, in turn, means we wonder why we ever bothered working.

People buy into all the TV productions, media headlines and political nonsense about benefits. But the likes of newspaper stories, “Benefits Street” or Benefits Britain are not factually typical or realistic. They are far from representative, and always one-sided.

There is a great myth that has been spun by the government and media; the myth is that welfare benefits were too generous, too high and needed to be cut.

However, the reality is very different from this image that has skewed people’s perceptions of welfare. The truth is that welfare benefits were never too high. Far from it, they were in fact inadequate.

The truth is that pay levels have been and still are grossly insufficient. Combined with high prices and a high cost of living, it is no wonder most people feel ‘cheated’.

But welfare benefits were only set at a level to meet these costs and prices. Even then, they were only set at levels to barely meet those costs. The fact that low pay could not meet these costs was never the fault of people on welfare benefits; they have no impact on your pay level.

Blaming people on welfare was a tactic government used to cause divisions across the country; so while people are busy blaming those not working, they don’t focus on their own poor pay levels, rising prices or what the government are actually doing.

Rents have been a particular issue. David Cameron promised that cutting Housing Benefit would bring rents down. This was always, obviously, complete nonsense with no basis in fact. Rents have risen year on year.

Of course, expensive areas have special characteristics when it comes to, for example, property prices, rents and other associated costs living in such an area – with London being a more special case.

But the government has taken London as a model and, as a political mechanism, applied the ‘one fits all’ idea across the country.

Of course, I do not need to tell you that house prices and rents in London are not the same as those in, for example, York, Great Yarmouth, Chelmsford, Huddersfield, Nottingham, Southampton (etc etc).

In fact, rents differ greatly, and this is why setting the Local Housing Allowance (Housing Benefit) on the median had some logical sense. On the 50th percentile, people were still likely to need to top-up their rents, but at least it gave people options (if they could find a landlord who would accept Housing Benefit).

On the 30th percentile, in many areas across the UK, people will never be able to find a home. For example, in many parts of the UK, family homes begin well above the 50th percentile. It’s no surprise there is a housing crisis – and a growing rent debt crisis.

This distortion of the truth by this government is absolutely appalling. They portray a nation of lazy scroungers – when in fact unemployed people account for only 3% of welfare spending. And, of course, unemployed does not automatically equal ‘lazy’.

The reality is that, after pensions, people in work are a much bigger draw on welfare benefits.

That is largely down to pay being grossly insufficient. The State knows pay is too low – that’s why all the in-work benefits exist.

The truth is that the government has betrayed people – both in and out of work. By keeping your pay low (via in-work benefits  – yes, people get paid AND get welfare benefits!), you are being held back in progressing your life and your career – whilst your employer, directors and shareholders benefit from all your efforts.

We worked hard for years, and both of us had excellent incomes. I worked in Computer Science and then later in Software Development and management. My wife worked in finance. We had cars, a house (or should I say mortgage), holidays every year, and we didn’t want for anything.

One can argue that we worked for it and earned it, but the truth is that we had good fortune too. As much as people try to ‘make their own luck’, we all need the cards to be kind.

But now, I am full-time carer to my disabled wife. I also bring up our children (one of our children is also disabled). We have costs due to disability that are both high and unavoidable. But we have no way of raising or earning money in our situation.

Most people who have never experienced disability would be astounded and scared by the sheer extra costs. They can easily run to several hundred pounds extra each month. We don’t set these costs/prices no more than we asked to be afflicted with disabilities.

It is atrocious and shameful what this government are doing to disabled people. Theresa May, David Cameron, Nick Clegg, Iain Duncan Smith, Damian Green and others, such as Lord Freud, are not fit to be in power. Supporters of this government should be ashamed of themselves.

Both my grandfathers fought in World War 2. I’m sure they would be disgusted with the way this Govt., the media and many people in the UK view and treat vulnerable and disabled people. I’m sure they’d have searching questions about what they were fighting for.

My friend’s father worked all his life whilst also looking after his disabled wife, and bringing up his son. He paid into the system all his life. He worked hard all his life. And his reward? He died suddenly, shortly after taking early retirement. He never got to enjoy retirement.

His son, who is now himself unwell, is another who is being hit hard by the government’s welfare reforms. His son also worked for quite some years. People have worked hard and paid in, and the government are now not providing enough money, help and support.

What was the point of his working and paying in? Why bother?

It is very hard to get insured against such things. It may be easier or harder now, I’m not sure. But when we did it, it was near impossible to get cover with multiple medical problems and unpredictable progressive conditions. The policy we had would not pay out, arguing on legal technicalities. We progressed with it for a while but we eventually hit an impasse, where they basically told us we would have to take them to court. Of course, we were no longer in a position to do this. Subsequent cuts to legal by the coalition government were the final nail in the coffin. I do not see how David Cameron can say this is helping people, do you?

Moreover, though, it’s irrelevant in many ways. Had insurance paid out, we would not have been able to claim many welfare benefits. We would have had to live off that money until it was exhausted. And with no options for earning more money, that would not have lasted very long. As costs are far more than what we get, savings would have been exhausted too. Ultimately, we would still be in this position, even if insurance paid out. But it didn’t. And we are not alone.

Now, our fixed income does not even meet 70% of basic bills. These welfare reforms are hitting the most vulnerable the hardest. They are causing anxiety, depression, illness, homelessness and increased child poverty. This cannot be acceptable. We saw the terrible effects of homelessness and child poverty in the late 80s/early 90s. It was terrible. It put tremendous strain on the NHS, which of course costs a lot more than welfare or the likes of housing benefit. It’s government irresponsibility that costs money and punishes rather than empowers people.

We are adversely affected by a number of the welfare reforms, and the number of changes has a cumulative impact. Our situation is directly attributable to the welfare reform policies. We did not have these problems before the welfare reforms. These reforms have adversely affected the vulnerable, and to challenge this legally is very difficult with parallel severe cuts in legal aid.

When my wife’s condition worsened, we both had to stop working. I too have a slight disability but nothing like my wife’s. We lived off our savings for a time, but ended up having to down-size our house, sell the cars, belongings etc. Eventually, after having to give up our smaller home, we had to rent. We exhausted our savings to live on, sold everything. We lost everything we had ever worked for. What was the point in our working?

And now – now we need something back from the system we paid into and trusted, the government deny us this. They have broken that trust. They have put us into personal debt that is spiralling and – if our fixed remains so insufficiently low – inescapable.

Had we not worked, we’d be no worse or better off today. So what was the point? There wasn’t one.

This isn’t about party politics. No decent human being with an iota of intelligence could support this government’s welfare reforms.

Male. Married. 3 Children. No Pets. Concerned about the changes the new Conservative Government are introducing. Very concerned about changes that adversely affect the vulnerable and disabled people. Commenting on current affairs, music and life in general.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
49 comments on “My wife and child are disabled, I care for them. Govt have made our lives a living hell. No government should do this to citizens.
    • Marianna says:

      My partner and I are currently in the fortunate position of having our health and secure decent paying jobs.

      I know that perfectly well, and it is never far from my mind, that we are but one diagnosis of serious illness or bad accident away from where you are. Ot is a selfish way of looking at ybings I know and I would like to think that even if I were filthy rich I would have the abity to empathise and beleive that a society should be judged on how it treats its vulnerable citizens.

      What I cannot fathom is that thousands or millions of others cannot see that this could very easily happen to them too. And why that alone is not enough to wake them up to the reality of people’s situation.

      • Julie lloyd says:

        I get so frustrated because i also cannot understand why so many just shrug their shoulders and never think it could happen to them !!

    • Justis4u says:

      Time people formed a DWP people helpline and organise to help each other where the DWP has been challenged succesfully and forming a group to help others too as too many people have taken their lives when cornered and attacked by DWP.

  1. leonc1963 says:

    I feel for you Thomas I really do as I find myself in a very similar situation I am disabled due to an SAH/Stroke that caused Hemiplegia this was 23 yrs ago but I got myself back into fulltime work and worked for as long as I could until my bones and joints got so painful working became unbearable so had to take early retirement in 2008.

    During my working years I never claimed a penny in Govt support because I wrongly thought the govt would see me alright when I could not work so for 17years you could say I was bailing out governments.

    Everything was fine until 2010 as I was getting Incapacity Benefit at the higher rate and some DLA which was enough with my wife’s earnings to pay the mortgage and bills and live life with a bit of decency however now after being on ESA for the 365 days I get nothing apart from middle rate of care for DLA and with cost of living going up ever higher we are really struggling and if interest rates rise we are done in and will have to sell up.

    Everything is just so brutal totally unfair and dare I say against EU law

    I have no doubt there are some abusing welfare but certainly not in the numbers Govt say and even more like us are being targeted unfairly.

    I live in hope this will improve for us soon.

    • Keith anderson says:

      I’m the same my stroke was 2007 was self employed, under the then Labour government had to support myself for 6 months while they worked out if I had a claim or not, had paid tax etc, when your self employed you have to pay tax in advance based on the previous years earnings. The HMRC had lost- misplaced my final tax payment. and hounded me for 5 years till it was found in the last 7 years its been a living hell, really fell like a scrounger even though I’ve had full employmenmt for the 34 years up to my stroke and still pay tax on my work pension, also contribute to my rent,poll tax. I’m not wanting any luxuries other than to exist without fear for my future

  2. vjones2 says:

    i was disabled before 2010 but became totaly then due to a sah folowed by a stroke im alone, no help oh they say there sorting help im relying on friends to pop in to help they have already got in trouble from work for there pop in shor time to see if im alive dea, no one nos how much extra money you need just simple things like you need heat extra water due to accidents ect im not old want to be clean example i carnt wash dry my hair i bought a stand for hair broke in 5 minsi need a sling for a subluxed shoulder can i get it on nhs NO yet they told me ive been left to long im stuck this way i did 3 jobs at one point to make sure i paid my morgage wasnt pleasure money now in worry all time over all these letters form im not good things like that you put stress worry angzeity it does all im scared my house is mine probably most inteigent thing ive done when mum passed away i didnt keep penny used it on my house but i need pay all things and i pay 2 have wash and any other bits ive no money ive not even looked at tv stuff as its rubbish when your living it why should they make us feel so bad scared we did not ask for this nor go to tesco and buy it, ive also got eating problem my weights droping byday im alreay bottom of bmi thing when i had my sah and stroke i to dla i got you dint need to bother your worse well its says any change i think that was big change on forms 1 ? is on all have you got 6 months to live there wanting that bet if forms went back withthat big grins a around, but we worked and hard im ot office clever things mine was hard work 1st ting morning some days till 3 am with the 3 jobsi dont want to be ill they took our oney then but were all out in cold now its heartless and crewal and is entaly upsetting of which im not up to for lots reason

  3. vjones2 says:

    just one thing more ive a 80 odd year old aunt whos got parkinsons she was a manger wolworths from 16 she started in office till retired shes that worried about me shes offered to help anyway she can she phyiscaly carnt now, she left me late 1 night over year ago helping me fell ambulance from kids got her had operation on leg is this right NO they need to realise were not able to mange and we and our familys have paid worked hard its so rong what there doing 2 us

  4. jaypot2012 says:

    I can empathise with you and will be honest and say that both my husband and myself ask the same question. We too had good jobs, I worked as a PA in the Health Authority and my husband worked on the Liverpool Pilot – both paid really well and we too had a wonderful home for our three kids. Then my husband had a brain hemorrhage and our lives became completely different in that one split second! I had to leave my job to look after him and the kids, we sold our home to downsize, along with the cars. We tried so hard to keep the smaller house but it was impossible and I would not let the kids suffer anymore by stopping them going to their after school activities.
    Then I became disabled, and we really did strike rock bottom. We both saw our children through university and then we saw how lucky we had been as each and every one of them got great jobs and then set up homes of their own.
    We have moved up to Scotland and now rent a bungalow and then I lost my leg due to a surgeon’s incompetence and need an awful lot of aids to get around.
    My hubby and I care for each other and our kids visit as often as they can and come on holiday here.
    Why did we work? Why did we pay National Health Insurance, why did we pay taxes? You become disabled and then you are thrown on the scrap heap and then blamed for needing money and labeled a scrounger or a waste of space!
    I don’t know what else the disabled and the long term sick can do anymore, but we have to keep trying to find ways of fighting. I have said that if my hubby and I have our money taken away then we will get our stuff and go set up home in either Atos or the DWP – and as much as they will try to get us out we will have at least shown people what has and is happening to us all.
    As for IDS, I want him to suffer a terrible disability and live with the pain we have to deal with each and every day – he may have money but he won’t have his health and then he’ll see just what it’s like to be one of us!

    • Van Der Graf says:

      Iain Duncan Schmitt does have a disability – he has a brain condition which leaves him totally unconscious of the suffering his policies inflict on the less well off. Lets not forget that without his married-into wealth he would not be in the position he is in now. NOT forgetting his hold over Mr Cameron. What did he say before the last cabinet re-shuffle? “I am staying where I am” Hmmm… What does he know about Cameron or more to the point what does his wife know about that worm?

  5. jaypot2012 says:

    Reblogged this on Jay's Journal and commented:
    Valid points here…

  6. A6er says:

    Reblogged this on Britain Isn't Eating and commented:
    thanks for sharing your stories, I’ll help advertise these by reblogging them on Britain Isn’t Eating as the more that see how this Tory led govn treat us, the better the chance in getting them out in 2015.

  7. Bobette says:

    I was a higher rate tax payer who fell seriously ill in 2002. I was unable to work afterwards. I lived off savings & then benefits & I tried to sell my house but by then the recession hit & no one was buying. I have now been left in negative equity, despite not having a huge mortgage. Its worth less now than 2005. I struggle daily & worry about how I can survive in the future. If I lose my ESA my partner loses his carers allowance, despite the fact I will still need 24hour care. I’d be better off dead.

  8. carmen says:

    Thomas, firstly I would like to say how sorry I am this happened to you, I can understand completely the termoil this has left your lives in, as the same thing has happened to my parents. My father worked full time since leaving school, and as a child I remember him working up to 70+hours per week, just so he could provide for my sister, my mother and I. My mother is disabled, due to her severe spinal problems has not been able to work since I was a child & we still managed to get by with my father working every hour under the sun. Until in 2008 everything changed. My dad contracted a foreign virus whilst working in Norway (once again, working every hour possible & in freezing conditions) and his immune system shut down leaving no other diagnosis but ME. My father was one of the physically strongest, hard working and fantastic fathers I have ever met in my life. And that by no means is biased. My parents still have a mortgage on the home they have worked on for aslong as I can remember to make it theirs. My parents are now in debt that they can by no means cope with on the disability allowance they are giving. It is more than disheartening to watch your parents, or anybody, be a decent human being, pay into the system, support their children and to have it all snatched away from them in a blink of an eye. It is not only the financial struggle that is heartbreaking, but what is worse is the emotional torture it causes to somebody whos goal in life is to work to support their children, support themselves, be able to retire comfortably, and for them to feel that all their self-worth is gone. For all, or as little as its worth, atleast you, my father and anybody going through this can take with them, is knowing they were a decent human being, have bought their children up with high morals and without a doubt, have children that adore them. Im sure your children see you as a hero regardless of your situation now, just as I do my father.

  9. Wise words from someone actually experiencing the situation at hand… As wonderful as it is for us all to hear the opinions of those with no experience of disability and claiming benefit as a result of this.

    Like you I have always worked and worked hard. I’ve worked in various employment sectors and have held management level positions, always paying my contributions and insurance, yet now I need help from the system I have always supported there simply does not seem enough.

    Anyone not living with disability could never begin to image the additional costs and how little control we actually have other them…

    To the ignorant who say ‘tighten your belt’?
    In this situation honey, your belt doesn’t even have a buckle!

  10. Mel says:

    Reblogged this on Seeing Rabbits and commented:
    A very powerful post about the affects of disability in the UK.

  11. Islander says:

    I was a full time business manager earning £30k+, continued working for 10 years after being diagnosed with a rare arthritis [effects over 85% of joints]. Eventually my body could not cope anymore & I was medically retired. Tried claiming assistance within couple weeks, but it took over 8 months before the system paid me back anything [with exception to a tax rebate], forcing me to live off all my savings for that 8 months & leaving me in debt. Only debt I had prior while working was my mortgage. Now living on less than a 1/4 of what I used to earn.

  12. Reblogged this on bottomfacedotcom and commented:
    The so called “safety net” of the welfare state is failing people who’ve worked their entire adult lives. When people cheer on the government’s welfare reforms they should sit back and question what will happen to them if they become disabled. I’ll probably write on this subject from my own point of view soon, but in the meantime I urge you to read Tom’s thought provoking post.

    • Sandy Lane says:

      The people supporting the so called welfare reforms believe that should an illness or accident stop them from working the rules won’t apply to them. They have their egos massaged by Cameron et al on a daily basis with their ‘hard working,’ ‘doing the right thing’ rhetoric which is I am sure us deliberate manipulation. They think they are the deserving ones, Cameron will protect them and the only people suffering as a result if the reforms are ‘the undeserving scroungers’.

  13. jjbiener says:

    Thomas, as an American I am constantly told how much better the European system is and how we should emulate it. From your description, it doesn’t sound very different at all.
    I am also on disability. If I didn’t have the private disability in addition to what I get from the government I would have gone under.
    I don’t know much about your system, but ours is rife with waste, fraud and corruption.
    I know perfectly healthy people who have been getting payments for years. While my daughter who was hit by a drunk driver, was turned down.
    I firmly believe that the problem is not in how much we spend but in how we spend it. To me problem lies in the bureaucracy which seems more interested in feathering their own nest rather than help those they are charged to help.
    I hope things improve for you and your family. You will be in my thoughts.

  14. samspruce says:

    The irony is it has nothing to do with justification because one worked and paid taxes and nothing to do with being disabled. These might be issues if the government’s punitive actions were aimed at one group or another. This is inhumanity across the board. It is one small group (the wealthy) abusing planet earth and the population. There is no excuse for this appalling assault on the majority of the people. It is, however, endemic across the Western World and is a crime against humanity. It is an archaic cultural paradigm and if the internet and people raising their awareness doesn’t change how we operate as a society then nothing ever will. Every attempt to oppose them with the current paradigms plays directly into their hands. It is not ‘them’ it is ‘us’.

  15. joetaylor41 says:

    Reblogged this on joetaylor41 and commented:
    Hi Thomas, I’m reading Good Times, Bad Times by John Hills , which gives detaied and well-researched background to the situation that you and thousands of others find themselves in.

  16. Well said. I have worked for more years than not. I am not married, no kids, yet my taxes paid for education of people’s kids.

    Later in live I got cancer. The brilliant NHS cut it out. the recovery was long. The system gave me a year and then ATOS gave me zero points and my benefits were stopped.

    It’s a well tuned mechanism now. I played the game on work program. Got no help at all, it was an embarrassment. Got a job on fixed term, when that ended, I was pushed back on work program. When that ended, was immediately lined up for unpaid workfare. Again, another example of a well oiled mechanism. Personal circumstances mean nothing.

    We live in unpleasant times. Cameron, IDS and crew need fucking and burning.

  17. I wholeheartedly empathise and it’s disgusting!

  18. Mandy says:

    Thank you for your educated insight. Your situation terrifies me, I started having mobilty issues 4 years ago out of the blue. I don’t drink, smoke, take drugs and had always led a healthy lifestyle. I now find myself in a position where I am having to cut my working hours shorter and shorter. Luckily I work at a computer as I often can’t walk. My husband and I are in our early 40’s and have always worked. we have three young children and one of them also has an incurable condition. My husband works long hours yet has to do most aspects of domestic duties. I feel lazy and guilty. I qualified for a blue badge and home equipment. I was advised by medical practioners to apply for PIP to help get back my ‘independence’ I scored 5 on my atos assessment, minimum qualifying score was 8 apparently.
    Unfortunately in my job role I come across many benefit claimants and while yourself and the others commenting on this post seem to be genuine, I have come across so many liars, fabricating and exaggerating to claim a myriad of payments. While I do not agree with the current government, it is these individuals who have led to those genuinely needing help to be left in a ditch, trying our best to claw our way out.
    I didn’t want to ask for help. I didn’t expect anyone to help provide support for my family. I might not of even had a family should I have foreseen these events. I have been advised by my consultant to medically retire. I cannot and will not do this as we simply cannot afford to. Does that mean that we shouldn’t be entitled to any help. It seems so.

    • vomsters says:

      Mandy, apply for PIP again if your condition has changed in any way at all. Get CAB or an advocate to help you – they will fill the form in while going through the questions with you and making sure the necessary information is written down. Most people who apply for DLA/PIP without help (unless they fully understand how the system works) get refused.

      One thing that trips up those of us who try to keep some pride in ourselves despite our disabilities is precisely that pride. Going to an Atos/Maxiumus interview well groomed with ironed clothes, unaccompanied, trying to put the best spin on what you are able to do – who wants to tell a stranger that they haven’t been able to have a shower for over a week? – and so on leads to them concluding that you are fully capable of looking after yourself and do not have sufficient problems with mobility to qualify for help. They are not on your side. You have to actively prove that you need the help or you don’t get any. Just saying “I have XYZ condition” is not enough for them. Their job is actually to find as few people as possible eligible for payments.

      These people are really helpful if you can’t find local help http://www.benefitsandwork.co.uk/personal-independence-payment-pip/pip-claims

      I love that you, knowing for yourself how difficult it is, parrot the Tory & Mainstream Media claptrap about “so many liars, fabricating and exaggerating to claim a myriad of payments” and mentioning “those genuinely needing help”. You think you can tell at a glance how people are affected by an illness of disability? You think that other people don’t put a mask on before they leave the house/go out in public to hide the negatives as much as possible? I may get in the car later and drive myself to a nearby town to walk slowly along the high street and do some window (and maybe actual) shopping. People who see me will think I’m fine, if walking a little slow & using a stick. They won’t see me flat on my back as soon as I get home or unable to do anything (including the aforementioned shower type activities) until at least Sunday. You do know that the combined level of fraud AND error in the benefits system in the UK was estimated at only 0.7% in 2013-2014 (https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/371459/Statistical_Release.pdf). That’s across ALL benefits.

      It might help all of us if we didn’t fall for the nasty party’s “Divide & Conquer” techniques every time. Not only do they have the poorly paid, lucky to be employed resenting the even worse paid unlucky to be unemployed rather than blaming the bosses for “not making work pay”, they’ve managed to convince some sick & disabled people that others *just like them* are somehow less deserving. That they are one of the “genuinely sick” but that person down the road, the cousin they don’t much like, the sibling they resent are evil skiving, scamming scroungers – the “Undeserving” vs the “Deserving”.

      • I agree with what you say. Particularly the point about knowing whether people truly are ill or not. I have ME/CFS and I am virtually housebound. When I do go out it is almost always with my husband or someone else. On a really, really good day I can perhaps drive myself the one mile to the doctors and back home. And amazingly if I see any one I know, they will often tell me how well I look.

        What they don’t see is that when I get home I am curled up in the chair because I am so wiped and in so much pain. Or that sometimes even a simple task like that can wipe me out for weeks. Just because I have made the effort to preserve some dignity and try and hang on to what little of myself is left does not mean I am well. Yes perhaps when you see me I look ok but that is because I have made a huge effort that is going to have huge payback on my abilities for the next days and weeks. How is that being well?

  19. Mark Catlin says:

    Reblogged this on markcatlin3695's Blog and commented:
    The “Welfare Safety Net” was put in place to figuratively “catch” those who “fell” into hard times. The Govts anti-claimants propaganda has tarred us all with the same “lazy scrounger” brush. I find myself having to justify my claiming benefits by explaining to people I’ve worked from age 16 and I’ve only needed help for last few years due to ill-health. Even then some people only see some illness as being “deserving” of help. Until some people stop looking-down on others and pay attention to what’s being done by politicians then they tacitly support the poor treatment of one section of society over another. The last time in history this was allowed to get out of control, 1000’s died, oh wait!….

  20. Chris says:

    …I don’t know what else the disabled and the long term sick can do anymore …

    The poor of all ages are 75 per cent of voters, and 75 per cent of voters do not vote.

    Because we live in the past when a single party ran the UK parliament.
    This will never happen again. If you want to prevent the coming grand coalition of
    TORY / LABOUR from a second general election, as all expert pundits predict this general election will not bring in a secure majority government even with 2 parties in government, then vote different.

    There is no such thing as a small party, who have the biggest influence in UK parliament in UK history.

    VOTE SNP IN SCOTLAND – GET 59 ANTI AUSTERITY MPs in UK parliament

    VOTE PLAID CYMRU IN WALES – GET 50 ANTI AUSTERITY MPs in UK parliament.

    So right there have 99 anti austerity MPs and
    have reduced the number of Tories and Lib Dem MPS
    in UK parliament in Westminster London.

    VOTE DIFFERENT IN ENGLAND WHERE TORY OR LIB DEM MP IN JOB

    Then vote different in England where there is a sitting Tory or Lib Dem MP.

    Tories got about 300 MPs and the Lib Dems got about 50 MPs in 2010, on tiny margins to get them into the job.

    By voting different you can vastly reduced the numb er of Tory and Lib Dem MPs, still further.

    VOTE TUSC (TRADE UNIONIST AND SOCIALIST COALITION) IN ENGLAND
    6th biggest party.
    Reverse rise in retirement age. Pay decent state pensions. Help the disabled.

    IF NO TUSC CANDIDATE IN YOUR VOTING AREA

    VOTE CLASS WAR
    double dole and pension

    SOCIALIST GB
    the original that will be the teacher

    THE LEFT UNITY PARTY
    Abolish not only bedroom tax, but also workfare, sanctions, benefit cuts

    MEBYON KERNOW
    Cornwall – Voting Mebyon Kernow gets rid of the Tories and Lib Dem MPs with slim votes that got them into the job in 2010 in UK parliament.

    THE GROUP OF PARTIES REACHES THE NEEDED 323-326 MP THRESHOLD
    TO SECURE A MAJORITY ANTI AUSTERITY UK OGVERNMENT

    The above small parties gives about 100 anti austerity MPs
    to add to the 99 from the Celt nations.

    That adds to the about 250 Labour MPs who cannot win on their own and are not
    an anti austerity party, but will change back to one with the small anti austerity MPs in the UK parliament.

    This is the only way to lock the Tories and Lib Dems out of power.

    LOGOS TO RECOGNISE TO PUT YOUR PENCIL CROSS IN THE BOX BY
    THURSDAY 7 MAY / HOW ENSURE REGISTERED TO VOTE

    http://www.anastasia-england.me.uk

  21. Jan Cook says:

    Thomas I understand and sympathise. I don’t know of a single disabled person who wouldn’t gladly give up benefits and DLA if they could be free from constant pain and difficulties caused by their condition. And as an aside: Many pensioners have have paid NI and private contibutions end up being taxed for the rest of their lives, but the media just keeps harping on about ‘wealthy pensioners’ benefits. It is just a mechanism for setting one section of society against another. Civilised governments do not target and penalise the most vulnerable people amongst them.

  22. J.D.Hughes says:

    I agree with much of what you say, Thomas, but this is not just a Tory/Lib problem. If Labour is elected they will do exactly the same as their predecessors. They are as much toffs as the others and as much liars.

    This is more a problem of the proliferation of career politicians like Cameron, Miliband, Clegg and their ilk who have little idea of what a living wage is, or how benefits should be managed and apportioned. How could they, they are an elite without contact with ordinary people.

    If our system refused to allow people without work or life experience to stand for Parliament then perhaps we might get back to electing conviction politicians who actually believe their own words and did not simply have an eye on amassing vast wealth on the lecture circuit or in the boardroom when their political lives are over.

    Whatever happens in the General Election, we British must learn to hold the feet of these buggers to the fire and protest when their lies are revealed, as they surely will be.

  23. jan says:

    Greatly moved by your post. I was really hoping for a different outcome in the UK. We have our own problems with the conservatives in the US. You’re right – those who’ve never faced adversity have no compassion.

    • donwreford says:

      The government I am including all governments of the first world are committed to repression of the public and to increase poverty of all people other than the super rich the electorates must ask the question who are you voting for? you are voting for those who will have a commitment to destroying the health of many.

  24. Sadly this is still all true today. My husband and I are in a similar position. I have worked full time for 30 years, my husband for 40. Due to ME/CFS I have been unable to work at all for nearly 5 years now. My husbands job disappeared but as he is near retirement and has more medical problems than I do, including heart problems, he is only able to find and maintain part time work on a very low wage.

    Consequently, despite full stamp, we have exhausted any savings, we are existing on meagre benefits and are in serious danger of losing the modest home we strived so hard to secure, just because we are too ill to earn a decent living wage any more. This cruel and heartless government has got a lot to answer for.

    It’s way past time the public woke up to the truth about people who have no choice but to exist on benefits and the cruel and heartless way this government treats them. Stop listening to the vicious Tory propaganda and see the truth, the vast majority of benefits go to vulnerable people who are not there through choice, anything but!

  25. jay says:

    Thank you for this post. You have described the fraud being carried out against contributors to the national insurance scheme. National insurance receipts were supposed to provide for situations just such as yours. National insurance payments are still being collected while the payments to claimants under the scheme are being eroded.

  26. madness42 says:

    Reblogged this on madness42 and commented:
    This, just this…

  27. Paul Leeper says:

    We Need 2 Fight #Inequality & Fight With
    @jeremycorbyn 4 A Socialist Britain That Really Does Work 4 Every1 Not Just 4 The So Called Elite

  28. Paul Leeper says:

    We Need 2 Fight #Inequality & Fight With @jeremycorbyn 4 A Socialist Britain That Does Really Work 4 Every1 Not Just 4 The So Called Elite

Leave a Reply

